Post First 4.0.1 Raid Thoughts

Everyone has been going “yay lava surge” for making the rotation “more interesting”. I don’t think it is. I found it a bit awkward getting my next lava burst off when I wasn’t expecting it, especially due to the spell queue system. There were a few run-ins with Earth Shock as well, and I’m not looking forward to adding Flame Shock into the mix every 27 seconds or so verses the start-of-the-fight behaviour we have now, never mind the fact we get another cooldown spell to deal with.

My problem with it still comes down to the twitchy, need to watch it constantly behaviour on what would normally be an 8 second cooldown. Having it as a different behaviour where it generates a non reactive proc like overload or lock n load would still preserve some of the fun factor while making it easier to use. (The “Hey cool” factor with Moonkin and their Eclipse procs is more fun/distinct/lasting every 20-25 seconds or so than the minute feeling you get when your burst cooldown gets a few seconds shaved off it).

From a maths point of view, at 80 without the T10 set bonuses and using Earth Shock at 8 shield charges, Lava Surge gains me roughly 90 dps. With the T10 bonuses it’s 175. I can’t say anything about 85 yet as my model needs some work to handle it, but I’m not completely convinced that it will be much different.

I’d have to say that this, plus the current Searing Totem targeting/range issues (seriously, just make it a pet with a range bonus via Elemental Reach and it’ll be fine) will be the two critical irritation factors with playing Elemental in this new 4.X world. So much so that I remain to be irritated I’ll end up changing spec/class to go back to something that’s more enjoyable, or just quitting the game again.

About binkenstein
I'm a geek, living in Christchurch, New Zealand.

4 Responses to Post First 4.0.1 Raid Thoughts

  1. Taser says:

    Managing lava surge is definitely annoying. During some tests in Naxx yesterday lava surge always seemed to proc directly after I queued another LB. In many cases there was no advantage because the 8 sec CD was over in that moment too.

    Maybe one of the reasons that it felt so bed designed was that the ingame power auras system didn’t work and that I am missing a working version of EventHorizon. I can tell you that it is no fun to watch FS on the target + the normal LVB CD + Lava Surge + shield charges + Boss tactics + Omen

    I will give it another try on Friday. Everything is new, many addons are broken. That is no situation to make a decision if you continue to play WOW.

    • Pewter says:

      Event Horizon actually has a working version out – check the plugin/patches tab at EH Continued in WoW Interface🙂

      • Taser says:

        I downloaded and installed V1.9 R274 yesterday. But I was not able to get it running. Maybe I just downloaded it from the wrong site. Today or tomorrow I will definitely visit EH Continued and try out if that version is working.

        Thank you Pewter

  2. Ateve says:

    Elemental range issues are annoying, Searing Totem is top of the list right now but Hex and Wind Shear are pretty important for cata dungeons and are also short range.

Leave a Reply

